Driver Education

Driver Education Package

Daily life can be challenging without a driver's license. If you are under 18 years old, you are required by law to take Driver's Education to obtain a Maine driver's license.

Learn the techniques of driving a vehicle, basic vehicle maintenance, safety precautions, traffic regulations, and laws of the state of Maine.

You will be issued a temporary learners permit that is good for 60 days once you successful complete all parts of Driver's Ed. During those 60 days, you'll need to go to the Bureau of Motor Vehicles to obtain the actual permit which will be valid for 2 years.

Per Maine Law: To obtain a learner's permit, you must be at least 15 years of age and have successfully completed an approved driver education course (if under 18), passed a written knowledge examination, and a vision screening. This permit allows the individual to operate a vehicle when accompanied by a licensed driver who is at least 20 years of age, has held a valid license for two consecutive years, and is occupying the seat next to the permitted driver.

If you want to enjoy the freedom of driving, take a driver's ed class from our qualified instructors at Bud's Driver Rider Education!

We serve ALL areas with our convenient hybrid instruction. Main office is located in Auburn at 49 Hampshire St.

Register online today!

Refresher Drives

We also offer a refresher driving hours and vehicle rental. Students can benefit from road test prep, extra hours, or breaking bad habit with an instructor before you taking their driver's test. If you would like to rent a school vehicle for your road test, you must drive with an instructor for an hour before we allow the vehicle to be used. This course should be booked at least seven days in advance. Email us as soon as you get your test date -!

Email Us Today!

Class Info

We were one of the first to offer (and continue to offer) a blended AAA version of class. Maine law requires that every driver completes 30 classroom hours and 10 hours behind the wheel. With the blended version, you complete the basics on zoom with us, and then do the rest at YOUR pace around YOUR SCHEDULE!

It's never been easier to fit Driver's Ed into your school/work/family schedules! You can rewatch/redo the in-depth AAA created program as many times as needed! You are no longer tied to the pace of the in-person class!

  • 6 hours of zoom classroom instruction (fundamentals of driving)
  • 25 hours of self-paced online course via AAA How to Drive Online Curriculum
  • 2 hours of in-person classroom instruction (includes review & BMV written exam)
  • 10 hours of behind-the-wheel instruction

Students have been LOVING this version because it is SO easy to fit into work/sports/activity schedules!

AAA truly knows their material and presents it in the best way! No more hassle trying to make up missed classes!


You'll need to SIGN UP for a time to grab your materials - check your confirmation email for details on how to sign up - and bring the following items to your materials pick-up time which will take about 10 minutes:

  • Original state-issued birth certificate
  • Any Payment Due
  • Glasses/Contacts if you wear them

Upcoming Schedule - No Waiting List!!!

New Class starts every other week! Click the register button to see upcoming dates!

Register online today!

Have a question? Email us today!